Blueberries in the Cherry Capital

August 2, 2008 at 10:40 am 7 comments

After my street sale excursion yesterday, I drove up to Buchan’s Blueberry Hill to pick blueberries.

The farm is almost at the tip of the Old Mission Peninsula.  I drove the scenic Peninsula Drive to get there.  Sheer torture, I tell you!

I can’t believe I’ve lived here for 16 years and never knew about this place.  I would love to have brought my kids here.  Some of the blueberries were the size of grapes, and you could sit down in front of a bush and pick dozens in one spot!  In fact, that’s exactly what I did..

Two hours later, dripping with sweat (sorry for that visual), with 12 pounds of blueberries in my buckets, I was ready to call it quits.  I think I photographed everything BUT the blueberries in the buckets.  Oh yeah, and my body dripping with sweat.  Lucky you.

Here are some pretty pictures I took at their farm to get those awful images out of your head.

When I got home I put most of the berries directly into the freezer.  Minus the pound or so I ate in the car on the way home.

They freeze so nicely and are great to snack on.. frozen or fresh.

Yum!

This is the place where I post a scrumptious recipe that I will use with the blueberries.  Unfortunately, I don’t cook, bake, or can.  Good thing I wasn’t born a pilgrim.

Entry filed under: Traverse City. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Sale I’d give my right arm for…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LoveMeKnot Creations  |  August 2, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    mmm those look so good! I wish I had a berry farm by me! Those will be great in the winter when you get a craving for some blueberry pie, blueberry cobbler, blueberry shakes, or even make your own blueberry ice cream 😉

    Reply
  • 2. j mackie  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    not envious of the berries or the views, not at all, no i really am not. he he

    Reply
  • 3. jmillen  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    LoveMeKnot… did you not read the part about my lack of baking skills? lol

    J Mackie – it really is torture living here. Really.

    Reply
  • 4. Warm And Fuzzy Baby  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Ohh, I went to a friends house and we picked erries. It was amazing and the kids loved it.
    The simple things in life always bring the greatest joys. They are always so uncomplicated.

    Reply
  • 5. Jana  |  August 3, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Oh my gosh — lucky you! They look so yummy! I’m busy chowing down on sweet cherries down here in Cincy! Not from those wonderful cherry orchards up your way but from the Kroger orchard! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jana  |  August 23, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Check out my blog! I nominated you for a fave blog award!

    Reply
  • 7. Jody  |  August 23, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I love blue berries! I always make blueberry pancakes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


